Brian Westbrook: The original Reggie Bush

bengaldee

By DANA PENNETT O'NEIL
phillynews.com
THE GUSHING officially has begun, where NFL aficionados are working themselves into a frenzy to adequately describe Reggie Bush.

In the week after the New Orleans Saints rookie returned a punt 65 yards for his first NFL touchdown, football is finding new superlatives for its newest superhero.

He is an explosive weapon, a multitalented mismatch, and a guy who can kill you as a running back, beat you as a wide receiver and return punts for touchdowns.

Key the exclamation points, insert the wows.

Pardon me, the Eagles' Brian Westbrook thinks, but where have I seen this game before? Oh that's right. I've been playing that way for 5 years.

"Yeah, I was in front of the curve," Westbrook laughed.

Really, Bush is Westbrook with a better resume. The Saints, who bring a surprising 4-1 record into Sunday's game against the Eagles, use Bush much the same as the Eagles use Westbrook.

The difference is, Bush came to New Orleans having played for the 33rd NFL team - Southern California - and with a Heisman Trophy and a fat paycheck, courtesy of the No. 2 pick overall, in his pocket.

As Westbrook explained, "I didn't do those things in my college career."

But what the guy from USC and the guy from Villanova are doing now is remarkably similar. Westbrook has 289 rushing yards; Bush, who shares the Saints' load with Deuce McAllister, has 170. Westbrook has 217 receiving yards, Bush has 250.

"There are a lot of similarities," Eagles defensive coordinator Jim Johnson said. "They've put him outside at wide receiver just like we do with Brian. They keep him inside as a tailback. You see those similarities between them, the way they use him and the way they play."

That Westbrook will play this week certainly helps him make his case. He practiced again yesterday, his first Wednesday-Thursday practice run since before the season opener at Houston, and fully expects to play on Sunday.