The best baseball movie never made

[quote]The best baseball movie never made

By Josh Pahigian

Updated: July 10, 2008, 1:30 PM ET

The snow is piling up on my Maine lawn on a March afternoon. The phone rings.

"How'd you like to hear a baseball story that could be bigger than 'Field of Dreams'?" the voice on the other end asks. "This isn't just one movie, it's two, or maybe three."

"Who's this?" I say.

"I'm calling from California, just finished working out a couple of minor leaguers, and I've got a baseball story that'll blow your mind."

"You've piqued my interest. Who is this?"

"I'm talking 'Rocky' and 'Rudy' and 'Field of Dreams' all rolled into one. This could be huge. And you could be the guy who writes it."

It'll be another 15 minutes before Rich Pohle will come up for air long enough for me to cajole a name out of him, and by then I'll have filled half a yellow legal pad with hastily scribbled notes. After all, I'm not a scriptwriter; I'm a baseball travel writer. But Pohle keeps reminding me that he's dropping the next big Hollywood blockbuster right in my lap, if only I listen attentively enough, if only I write it convincingly enough.

It's a story about a ruse, a gag, about just maybe the best hidden-ball trick baseball's ever seen.

As Pohle (pronounced POE-lee) pitches his story, I soon realize that it does indeed touch upon several of the themes that make for compelling cinematic fare.