I need some support

gatorclaws

I'm in a real bad place and don't really know what to do. I've been with my girlfriend for 3 years. I graduated last may and she was supposed to graduate this may but decided to stay and get her masters degree at Purdue. The long distance relationship is very tough but we talk a lot on the phone and I get to see her 3-4 times a month. We've talked a lot about getting married and both wanted it but now all of a sudden she says that she isn't sure anymore and needs time to think. It's really killing me and I don't know what to do.

There are a lot of issues complicating the issue and I'm having a hard time seeing why she's taken this step back. One thing is that I took a job up in Columbus in January but then left that job and came back to Cincinnati a short time after. She feels like I gave in too early and she's upset that she wasn't able to help me work through my issues there. Her feeling is that since she wasn't able to help me then, she won't be able to help me in the future. The long distance stuff also adds a lot of stress to our relationship. Some of her friends have started to get engaged and I think she's panicing a bit.

The hardest part is that I was going to buy a diamond today but now obviously I don't know if I should. Anyone been through a similar situation that can give me some advice?

[quote name='gatorclaws' post='511310' date='Jul 16 2007, 12:14 PM']I'm in a real bad place and don't really know what to do. I've been with my girlfriend for 3 years. I graduated last may and she was supposed to graduate this may but decided to stay and get her masters degree at Purdue. The long distance relationship is very tough but we talk a lot on the phone and I get to see her 3-4 times a month. We've talked a lot about getting married and both wanted it but now all of a sudden she says that she isn't sure anymore and needs time to think. It's really killing me and I don't know what to do.